Tennessee Mountain County List

The counties and their divisions are:

  • East Tennessee

    East Tennessee, a region abounding in urban areas, natural beauty, attractions and athletics. Traverse the Smoky Mountains or hike a portion of the Appalachian Trail. Cruise into one (or all) of the diverse urban areas in East Tennessee including Knoxville, Chattanooga, Bristol, Kingsport and Johnson City. via Tennessee Vacation → East Tennessee Region.

    • Northeast Region

      It only takes one visit to understand why the Northeast Region is so rich in culture, history and outdoor fun. Whether you find your adventure in the sounds of NASCAR, the sights of the great outdoors, the heritage of a historical landmark or the plot of a compelling story, the Northeast region has something for you. viaTennessee Vacation → Northeast Subregion.

      • Hancock County
      • Hawkins County
      • Sullivan County
      • Johnson County
      • Greene County
      • Washington County
      • Carter County
      • Unico County
    • Knoxville and the Middle-east Region

      Stop in downtown Knoxville for riverfront dining, historic buildings and walking tours, shopping and nightlife in the Old City and historic Market Square. See a concert, play or symphony performance at one the city’s fine theaters. Learn about regional history at the East Tennessee History Center. Indulge in great tastes and family festivals. via Tennessee Vacation → Knoxville & Middle East Subregion.

      • Scott County
      • Campbell County
      • Claiborne County
      • Union County
      • Grainger County
      • Hamblin County
      • Morgan County
      • Anderson County
      • Knox County
      • Jefferson County
      • Roan County
      • Loudon County
      • Monroe County
    • Smokey Mountain Region

      Visit the Smoky Mountain Region and find yourself enveloped in a panorama of splendid juxtapositions. Here, adventure, heritage and natural diversity co-exist in charming harmony, and family fun is found around every corner. It is a region of sprawling superlatives, and how to enjoy them awaits your choosing.

      Immerse yourself in natural beauty in the surrounds of the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Treat yourself to the spectacular views that reward a strenuous hike to the Chimney Tops or take the family for a morning cruise through the history rich Cades Cove Loop. If you would rather explore below the surface, a trip to Forbidden Caverns or Tuckaleechee Caverns is not to be missed, or climb high above it all with a walk to the top of Clingman’s Dome and see 100 miles of the state at once.

      via Tennessee Vacation → Smoky Mountains Subregion.

      • Blount County
      • Sevier County
      • Cooke County
    • Chattanooga and the Southeast Region

      Chattanooga is a city with something for everyone, from the world-famous attractions like Ruby Falls and Rock City to the bustling fun of the downtown riverfront and its aquarium and IMAX. Boat rides, historic tours and Civil War heritage, shopping, art museums, restaurants and nightlife await in the downtown and Bluff View areas. And for those who want a slower pace, the Overhill Heritage Association offers scenic byways, lakes and rivers, crafts and antiques, gardens and farms. via Tennessee Vacation → Chattanooga & Southeast Subregion.

      • Marion County
      • Grundy County
      • Sequatchie County
      • Bledsoe County
      • Rhea County
      • Hamilton County
      • Meigs County
      • McMinn County
      • Bradley County
      • Polk County
      • Franklin County (actually in Middle Tennessee, but not the Upper Cumberland area)
  • Middle Tennessee – Upper Cumberland

    The Upper Cumberland area of middle Tennessee has an exciting mix of things to do. With beautiful lakes, parks and refuges and resorts, you can spend all of your time outdoors. You can go underground in Cumberland Caverns or travel back in time at Civil War sites. Take in some of the South’s best professional theater at the Cumberland County Playhouse. Shop for one-of-a-kind fine art pieces and jewelry at the Appalachian Center for Craft in Smithville. Whatever you choose, you won’t be bored on the Cumberland Plateau. via Tennessee Vacation → Upper Cumberland Subregion.

    • Cumberland County
    • White County
    • Putnam County
    • Overton County
    • Fentress County
    • Van Buren

Join the conversation...